Frenchay Village MuseumThe Frenchay Village museum reflects the history of a unique village that was for centuries a centre for Quakers. It is run entirely by volunteers and receives support from South Gloucestershire Council and advice from Bristol City Museum.
It received a Certificate of Registration in October 2002 as it has achieved the high standards required by the Resource registration scheme which sets standards for collection care, public services and museum management. Winterbourne Parish Council helped to set up the museum in 2000.
The museum is located just inside Entrance "B" of Frenchay Hospital, on the corner of Frenchay Park Road and Begbrook Park.
It is open on Wednesdays from 12.30pm to 4.00pm, and on Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holiday Mondays from 2.00pm to 5.00pm.
The exhibitions are changed throughout the year and currently include the Tuckett family, the Fry family (250th anniversary of the founding of the chocolate business). A new inclusion is a set of Winterbourne Parish records.
Everyone who visits enjoys the experience and not only learns something but has often been able to give useful, local history, information to the volunteers on duty.
The hospital Car Park is alongside the Museum and costs £1-20 so parking is easy and convenient. Disabled access is first-rate.
"Winterbourne, Gloucestershire"by Dr C H B Elliot. Published in 1936.
Even today, seventy years on, this book remains the standard reference for all interested in the history of the area. It has now been republished by the Frenchay Tuckett Society with the addition of a comprehensive index with over 1,000 entries. All proceeds from the book will go to the #Frenchay Museum appeal.
It is available from:
The Frenchay Tuckett Society
5 Cliff Court Drive
Bristol BS16 1LP
price £7.50 plus £1 postage and packing.# These sites open in a pop-up window. The loading speed and content is outside our control.
Click the 'X' close window box to exit.